Join now - be part of our community!

Any A7 II users want to share their experiences? I'm tempted...

bmorse
New

Any A7 II users want to share their experiences? I'm tempted...

So I've been a music photographer for 8 years, and also a director. I tend to do a lot of DSLR shooting, and I saw the A7 and was interested. I've liked the images that came from it, but the "vanilla" a7's filming modes didn't cut it for me, and the 7S didn't shoot to a high enough resolution to my liking.

Enter the A7II. I'm looking for something that would be smaller and lighter than my 5D3, double as a backup camera to my C100 on shoots, and be capable of travelling the world with me. I'd also like to a smaller camera to get back into street photography. So - I'm appealling to you guys to basically tempt me away. The 5D IV is slated for later this year, but Canon have been slow to progress, and I'm not that impressed with their customer service. What's the Sony experience like? What's the user experience of the A7 II like?

Ben

Tags (3)
5 REPLIES 5
profile.country.GB.title
GreggLonewolf

Hi Ben

It's an exciting time in the camera world at the moment and I'm pleased to see that Sony have started making serious in-roads back into an area they used to excel in.

Let's face it - Sony got caught with their pants down when Canon introduced the 5D and 7D cameras, with the excellent stills and video combinations and at a remarkable price point. They then built upon this with the C300, 500 and 100 models, which have become the mainstay of many a music journo - yourself included.

Now, however, the tables seem to be turning - Canon's emphasis (with the advent of the 5DS and 5DS R) seems to be concentrating once again on stills (excellent 50mp + images coming our way) but the video side of things seems to not to be so exciting.

Thankfully, Sony seem to have stepped up to bat again, with the excellent low light capabilities and excellent dynamic range offered by the A7 family.